TEXTURE_navy.png
Ange_Pink_edited.jpg
 

BIOGRAPHY

Dime Sheppard is a writer and former barista, film student, waitress, Spanish teacher, vineyard labourer, bilingual interpreter and marketing manager. And some former other stuff. She has a degree in English literature, and also spent seven years working for an NGO, mostly in South America. This means she has diverse skills: she can string a sentence together, and she can also pee in the desert while fending off a baby goat, cook a delicious meal for thirty people with little more than potatoes and oregano, dig a bogged truck out of metre-deep mud with a broken teacup, and shower in cold water in the dead of winter without a murmur.
 

She loves reading, swimming, and laughing at her dog (who is ridiculous), action movies and eating potato chips for breakfast. She loves a perfect beach day, is trying to stay determined for achieving a press handstand before she turns a hundred years old, isn’t a natural blonde, puts spiders outside instead of smooshing them, and thinks sweet vegetables and high heels are both unpleasant and unnecessary.

1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc.png

Follow Dime on Goodreads!

 

CRIME WRITER

****
Shortlisted for
the 2022 Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense,
the Davitt Award for Best Crime Books by Australian Women and
the People's Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award
****

 
 
Evie Howland has problems.

Guns. Bombs. Murderers.

And that’s just on the page…
 

In real life she’s meant to be planning a wedding to adorable billionaire Daniel Bradley, but Evie is seriously snarled in the sixteenth book of her successful crime series. In fact, her protagonists are becoming almost impossible to wrangle: NYPD detective Carolyn Harding is volatile after a messy divorce, and Detective Jay Ryan has that heated look in his blue eyes again. They’re both sick of being written. And frankly they’re getting a little…physical. Evie is beginning to wonder if she’s ever going to finish Book Sixteen and get them back into fiction where they belong.

 

But when a disturbingly familiar homicide surfaces in the city papers, it seems as if other, darker characters might have crossed the fiction-frontier too. In which case, Evie is in a lot of real-life trouble.

 

If she is going to survive it, Evie must face her own worst fears, and learn that real love can be the best way of writing her own story.

 

But can she change the ending?

Full of fast-paced adventure and dry humour, this smart and witty caper is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich’s fun, action-packed Stephanie Plum novels, or Mary Stewart’s stylish romantic suspense.

PAPERBACK
eBOOK
AUDIOBOOK

WANT TO READ THE FIRST CHAPTER? Get it here.

1B Dymocks.png
2B Fishpond.jpeg
3A BookDepository.png
4A Blackwells.png
5A Hive.jpeg
7C Barnes and Noble.png
8A Aldibris.png
9A Agapea.png
10B Kobo.png
11A Nook.png
12C Booktopia.png
13B iBooks.png
14B Google Play.png
SEQUEL TO CRIME WRITER

TWO TIMER

 
Crime writer Evie Howland is 
officially beginning a 'happily ever after'.
In life, that is. Not in fiction.

 

She isn't planning to write anything fictional for a while, especially not the screenplay she just started. That's because her two most beloved characters, NYPD detectives Jay Ryan and Carolyn Harding are part of reality now, and her closest friends.

 

And she wants to keep it that way.

 

But when a murder victim is found in Central Park, Evie realises she's made a mistake somehow, and unleashed her own brand of fictional havoc on the real world-again. Not to mention that there's a new character on the loose: handsome mystery man Chris Murray, a brilliant thief with an equally brilliant smile and possibly a heart of gold. Is he involved in the murder?

 

To chase down answers from Murray, Evie must dive headfirst (literally) into his story, which turns out to be a lot more dangerous than she anticipated. There's a good chance she might not make it out alive.

 

Will she be able to redeem her mistakes, or will she end up losing everything that matters most?

TT_200x127mm_BookMockup_Front.png
PAPERBACK
TT_iPad-Pro-Mockup_2.png
eBOOK
TT_AudioBookIphone_Mockup_2.png
AUDIOBOOK
Also available from GOOGLE PLAY, BARNES & NOBLE, BOOKTOPIA, KOBO, BOOK DEPOSITORY and all good online bookstores.
 

REVIEWS


Gripping postmodern crime novel that highlights the creative process.
—Kirkus

Such an original and absorbing novel...A wonderful debut; an absolute pleasure to read.
—City Hub Sydney


‘Crime Writer’ is a thrilling, more-ish novel…I devoured this story in two days.
—Others Magazine


A breathlessly fast paced book...terrifically written with great quotes scattered throughout...An excellent read.
—Sydney Arts Guide


Equal parts detective thriller and meta giggle-fest...impeccably literary; beautifully written and self-aware. I’ve never read anything like it. This is an extraordinarily good and challenging debut.
—3D Radio


A refreshing change that kept me guessing from start to finish.
—1079Life Radio


‘Crime Writer’ will…explode away the cobwebs of other formulaic offerings and detonate a desire to play around in their world with a second reading.
—Reviews By Judith


I couldn’t put it down!
—98Five FM
1454549160-1454549160_goodreads_misc.png
 

CONTACT

Typewriter_navy.png

I'd love to hear from you!

Thanks for submitting!

 

INSTAGRAM

@dimesheppard

DimeSheppard_Insta.png
  • Instagram - Black Circle